Board Members

NOIAW National Board | December 2013

NOIAW National Board | December 2013
First Row; Left to Right: Donna de Matteo, Jo-Ann Daddio-Larsen, Patricia A. Martone, Mary Ann Mattone, Honorable Anita Florio, Anne Marie D’Attelo, Maria Tamburri, MaryRose Barranco Morris. Second Row; Left to Right: Aileen Riotto Sirey, Ph.D., Diana Femia, Betty Santangelo, Esq., Maria Vullo, Esq. Honorable Angela Mazzarelli.

The National Board of Directors is the governing body of NOIAW.
The organization’s member structure provides for geographically organized chartered groups: Regions, and their subgroups, Networks.  NOIAW members enjoy membership in the National Organization of Italian American Women and geographically designated NOIAW Regions and Networks where they are chartered.


Lidia Matticchio Bastianich
Matilda Raffa Cuomo
Barbara DeBuono, M.D., M.P.H
Hon. Rosa L. DeLauro
Hon. Marie L. Garibaldi
Hon. Patricia deStacy Harrison
Hon. Nancy Pelosi
Hon. Natalia Quintavalle
Baroness Mariuccia Zerilli-Marimo

National Board

Aileen Riotto Sirey, PhD.
Founder and Chair Emerita

Dr. Aileen Riotto  Sirey founded NOIAW in 1980 with a group of women including  Geraldine Ferraro, Matilda Raffa Cuomo, Donna de Matteo, Constance Mandina and  Roseanne Coletti. In addition to maintaining a private psychotherapy practice for more than twenty five years, she also served as part time Executive Director of the National Institute for the Psychotherapies. Dr. Sirey is the recipient of numerous awards including  the titles of Commendatore and Cavalieri the Order of the Merit of Republic of Italy and Ellis Island Medal of Honor.

Maria Tamburri

Maria Tamburri was a managing partner/principal for West Hudson, Inc., a consulting firm specializing in management development and labor productivity. Her prior professional experience was in human resources and executive recruitment.  Maria has served on several not-for-profit boards and was NOIAW’s Executive Director from 2008 to 2011.

Maria Vullo, Esq.

Maria T. Vullo has been a Partner in the Litigation Department at Paul, Weiss, Rifkind, Wharton & Garrison, LLP for more than twenty-one years.  In 2010, she was the Executive Deputy Attorney General for Economic Justice at the Office of the New York Attorney General, Andrew M. Cuomo.  Vullo was also Special Counsel to the U.S. House of Representatives, Government Operations Committee, Employment and Housing Subcommittee. She was named one of America’s Top Women Litigators by The National Law Journal in 2001.

Diana Femia
Vice Chair and President of Greater Washington DC Region

Diana Femia served as Senior Director of Marketing for the New York Mercantile  Exchange for more than twenty-three years. A long-term NOIAW member, Femia joined in 1982 and served as a board  member and First Vice President. After relocating to Washington, DC, she launched the Greater Washington DC Region in 2008.

MaryAnn Mattone, RN/MPH

Her professional background began in psychiatric nursing where she served as Research Coordinator for Neurodocrine Studies at Albert Einstein College of Medicine and at the Department of Psychiatry at Columbia University, where she later became Acting Director of Nursing. Mattone left academia in 1982 and worked as a broker in domestic and foreign exchange markets on Wall Street before joining her family’s real estate business.  Mattone has been involved in philanthropic pursuits in the Italian American community and the community at large for many years.

Donna de Matteo

NOIAW Founding Member, Donna de Matteo, is Executive Director of the HB Playwrights Foundation and Theatre; Vice President of the Herbert Berghof (HB) Studio as well as Playwriting Chair at HB Studio.  Among her accolades, her play, Her Name is Kathy, was included in The Best Short Plays 2001-2002, and one of her most recent plays, The Heart Transplant, starred her Emmy-award winning daughter, Drea de Matteo.

Honorable Angela Mazzarelli

Hon. Angela Mazzarelli was designated Associate Justice of the Appellate Division, First Department of the New York State Supreme Court in 1994 by Governor Mario M. Cuomo. Justice Mazzarelli became the second woman appointed to ever sit in that court. In 1985, she was elected to the Civil Court of the City of New York and was assigned to sit in the Criminal Court. In 1992, Justice Mazzarelli was elected to the Supreme Court of State of New York.

Betty Santangelo, Esq.

Betty Santangelo, partner at Schulte Roth & Zabel, LLP is widely known and honored for her expertise in securities enforcement and corporate compliance issues. She has been honored as one of the Best Lawyers in America, a New York Super Lawyer and received the 2008 Burton Award for Legal Achievement.

Jo-Ann Daddio Larsen
President of the Connecticut Region

Jo-Ann Daddio-Larsen is an award-winning marketing executive with branding, communications, advertising and press relations experience in the banking, payments and debit card arena. Daddio-Larsen served as a Director of Citi for Citi Private Bank and Senior Vice President and Director of Branding and Advertising for Citigroup’s Corporate & Investment Bank.

AnneMarie D’Attelo
President of the Rhode Island Region

Anne Marie D’Attelo has been a practicing attorney since 1985 and admitted to the Bar in both Rhode Island and Connecticut.  She is currently Counsel at AIPSO in Johnston, Rhode Island, a position she has held for the past two years. D’Attelo was formerly a Managing Attorney with Zurich North America.

MaryRose Barranco Morris
President of the Greater New York Region; Staten Island Network Coordinator

MaryRose Barranco Morris received her Doctor of Education Degree at Teachers College Columbia University (TC) in 2005. She served TC for ten years  as an Academic Director in The Center for Educational Outreach and Innovation and then served as founder and Dean of The Center for Innovative Education in the Arts, Culture and Horticulture for Snug Harbor Cultural Center and Botanical Garden in Staten Island.  In 2011, she completed her first book, Linking Learning to Strategy Formation, creating and implementing strategic learning in not-for-profit organizations. Currently, Dr. Morris is an Adult Learning and Leadership Consultant.

Senator Capri S. Cafaro

Senator Capri S. Cafaro is a fourth generation resident of Ohio’s 32nd Senate district, an area she has had the honor to represent since January 2007. From 2009 – 2012, Cafaro served as Senate Minority Leader. Now entering her ninth year of service, Cafaro is the dean of the Senate Democratic caucus. During her tenure, Cafaro has established a track record of legislative effectiveness and leadership, advocating for economic growth and for the voices of the vulnerable. Cafaro has received numerous awards including being recognized as Legislator of the Year for the Ohio Association of Advanced Practice Nurses, The Ohio Speech and Hearing Association, The Ohio Association of Area Agencies on Aging, The Ohio AmVets and The Ohio Soy/Corn/Wheat Association.